A Haunted House Review

I was lucky enough to get an invitation to a private screening of A Haunted House. The movie is written by Rick Alvarez and Marlon Wayans who also wrote Scary Movie which I really enjoyed at the time that came out. Malron Wayans also plays the main role on the film and I like him as an actor, so that was good.

A Haunte House is a parody of all the “documentary/found-footage” style movies that appeared in the last years, the most noticeable being Paranormal Activity. The main characters Malcolm(Marlon Wayans) and Kisha(Essence Atkins) move into their dream house but soon after they move they notice some “paranormal activity” in the house and they found out there is a demon haunting the place. Kisha gets possessed by this demon and Malcolm does whatever it takes to help her and that includes a priest, a psychic and a team of ghost-busters thugs. With the help of all these people he is hoping the get the demon exorcised from Kisha and get his sex life back on track. I really liked how everyone played their characters well and it really gave me and the people watching some really good laughs for the entire length of the movie.

I’ve been waiting for a good spoof movie to come out for some long time and after seeing this movie I wasn’t disappointed. I can’t say it’s the best comedy I ever saw but it is a good movie, I still think Scary Movie 1 and 2 were the best spoof movies.

The movie is going to launch on 11 January 2013. On April 12 , Scary Movie 5 will launch and it is a spoofing of the same movies A Haunted House is spoofing and that makes these movies very similar. The new Scary Movie doesn’t have the Wayans brothers as writers and actors so it will be interesting to see how the movie turned out to be without the creators of these franchise. Although the last two Scary Movie films didn’t impress me at all, they were nothing compared to Scary Movie 1 and 2, so hopefully¬† we will see a better movie this time.I didn’t saw Scary Movie 5 yet so I can’t really compare the two movies but from the trailer of Scary Movie 5 I can’t say I’m really waiting for it. It doesn’t seem to be that funny as A Haunted House, but I guess we will see.

If you are a fan of those spoof movies or even if you just want to have some good laughs you should definitely watch A Haunted House. I found the movie to be quite good even though a lot of people are expressing some hate towards the film.

Leave a Reply

